Liebster Award Nomination – BIG THANKS and LOTS OF LOVE

When I started this blog 6 months ago, I never knew how much love and work would go into it. I always felt as if I was writing to myself, so no matter how awful my jokes were, at least I would always laugh out loud at my amazing wit and humor.  I never imagined that in only a few short months I would have so many amazing followers to share my experiences with.

To my followers, I owe you the biggest thank you! I have nothing but love for you because you motivate and inspire me to keep on cooking, traveling, photographing and blogging.

To be nominated for the Liebster award by another blogger whose writing and photography I truly admire was such a wonderful surprise. I must thank lovely Ally from Edibles and Travels for such an amazing compliment.

There are actually many different rules for accepting the blog, but I’m going with this one:

RULES:

1. You must thank the person who nominated you.

2. Answer the 11 questions posed by your nominator (see below)

3. Pass on the award to 11 new recipients

4. Pose 11 new questions to your bloggers

Questions from the Little Blog of Baking:

What made you start blogging in the first place?

A combination of events had taken place at my life all at one time that was like an atomic bomb going off. Specifically, I just left my job in the entertainment industry, I had just gotten my SCUBA diving certificate, Chris bought me a Cannon T3i and we were traveling to London and Amsterdam for New Years Eve. When we returned, all I could think about was traveling, adventuring, eating and photographing every experience I had. I was tired of living a life that everyone expected me to live, so from that moment on I vowed to live the adventurous life I had always dreamed of… I mean, you only get one life right?!

For years several of my best friends and most frequent dinner party guests had told me to go to culinary school and/or start a cooking blog. They thought at least if I started a culinary blog, they wouldn’t have to ask me everyday for their favorite recipes. So with my new view on life, I did what I had thought of doing 3 times before (in my early 20’s I toured culinary schools in San Francisco, New York and Paris) and I enrolled in culinary school and started Small Taste Of Adventure.

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

My favorite thing about blogging is sharing my experiences with my followers. Everyday I get a new follower, comment or like it’s like I made a new friends and I cant help but smile all day. Developing my skills at photography is also a great reward for me. It was and still is very challenging to cook and photograph food at the same time. It is something I work very hard at so when my followers complement my photography and food it is a truly rewarding experience.

Where is your favourite place you’ve ever travelled to?

Oh man, that is a hard one. Not to mention I am visiting 14 countries in the next month so I feel like could mess this question up! Hmmmm…. My favorite place would have to be Paris or maybe France more broadly. I know know, everyone says Paris…. however, I studied abroad there for several months so I truly got to explore every beautiful corner of that city and a several other beautiful regions in France. It is where I discovered my LOVE for eating (especially cheese, bread, and macaroons). There is nothing that compares to the romance you feel as you walk down the streets of Paris. It will always be in my heart.

If you could choose only one, which would you keep: bread, pasta or potatoes?

PASTA NO DOUBT! I am part Italian after all….

Are you a sweet or a savoury kind of person?

SAVORY!! In fact, I really don’t like sweets at all! People are usually shocked when I say that… how could someone not like sweets?! I mean, I really don’t like them… You will never see me eat cake, cookies, ice-cream, chocolate. If I do eat one of those things it would be once a month. However, the funny thing is I am actually really good at making all those sweet treats, I just give them to everyone else.

What is your favourite book?

With out a doubt Gone With The Wind. I read it for the first time in 7th grade and I loved every second of it. I think especially from a woman’s point of view, there is no better heroine then Scarlett O’Hara. Words can’t describe my love.

Honorable Mention: Harry Potter, I grew up with him.

What is your favourite film?

Gone With The Wind. I am so not unpredictable.

Which is your favourite cuisine from around the world and why?

Oooh hard one! Italian because it is all about the food. Simple ingredients and cooking but amazing outcome every time.

Honorable Mention: Japanese cuisine…. I mean Sushi… SOLD.

If you could have anyone over for dinner who would it be and what would you cook as your signature dish?

I would have Leonardo Di Carprio come for dinner… they say a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach… sorry Chris, Jack Dawson will always be my first love and I’ll never let go. Signature dish would be my lasagna bolognese or whatever he requested.

What have you learned since you started blogging – any tips that you would pass on to other bloggers or people thinking about starting a blog?

I’ve learned that I will never be able to post every single day. I had always made it my goal to do 4 posts a week, I am lucky if I get 2! I never realized how hard it would be to cook, photography, edit, write and edit again. It is a lot more work then I imagined. First tip is write about something you love because it will keep you coming back for more no matter how much work it is. Secondly, get out and read other people’s blogs! They will inspire you, motivate you and even build your own readership.

Which famous person would you love to meet and why?

Leo…. I will never let go.

People I’m nominating:

1. Be Brave Be Bold 

2. Neely Wang Photography + Design

3. Edibles & Travels

4.  Red Terrain

5. Half Asian Diaries

6. Marinating Online

7. Running Shoes and Chocolate Mousse

8. Inspired Sweets

9. 50 Year Project 

10. The Scrumptious Pumpkin 

11. Mama’s Hotdish

Questions posed to them:

 1. What do you love most about blogging?
2. What’s your profession/what are you studying?
3. Tell us in one sentence what your blog’s about.
4. Who inspires you?
5. If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
6. What’s your favorite place you have traveled to?
7. Which celebrities would you invite to a dinner party and why?
8. What’s your favorite restaurant?
9.  How long have you been blogging for?
10. Do you have any pets? What is/are their names?
11. What is your favorite adventure?
Thank you again to all my wonderful followers. Thanks again to Ally who nominated me, it made my day.
Love you all!

Would love to hear your comments below.

